In short
- DataReportal's Digital 2026 report puts X's India advertising reach at 22.2 million, down 12.3 percent, against 481 million on Instagram. Use X for conversation and live moments, not mass reach.
- X closed new Creator Revenue Sharing enrolments on 7 August 2026 and retired it on 7 September, replacing it with Original Content Rewards, which reportedly needs Premium and 500,000 verified impressions.
- X added a Paid Partnership label in March 2026. We could not confirm it for India, so put an ASCI-style label in the first words of the post as well.
- Published X rates are thin: one booking platform quotes ₹5,000 to ₹20,000 per thread for micro creators and ₹30,000 to ₹1 lakh for macro, noting softening.
X is a small platform for influencer marketing in India, and it has been getting smaller on the numbers we can check. It still earns a slot in a plan for live moments, launches, tech, news-adjacent topics and B2B conversation, where a creator's quick take travels. It is a poor choice when you need mass reach, steady sales or polished visual content.
This post is a platform-level note below our guide to influencer marketing in India and our influencer marketing strategy service, which sets the channel mix. A creator-payment change in August 2026 matters for how you brief X creators, so we cover it carefully and flag where our sources are secondary.
What is confirmed, and what is not
| Question | What the sources say | Status |
|---|---|---|
| How big is X in India? | DataReportal puts X's India ad reach at 22.2 million, down 12.3 percent; Instagram's ad audience is 481 million | Confirmed as an advertising-reach estimate |
| Did creator revenue sharing end? | X stopped new enrolments on 7 Aug 2026 and retired it on 7 Sep 2026, per press reports | Reported by several outlets; X's page not opened |
| What replaced it? | Original Content Rewards, announced 7 Aug 2026 | Reported |
| What are the eligibility rules? | 18 or more, Premium, over 500 verified followers, over 500,000 verified-user home-timeline impressions in 90 days, original content | Reported by one outlet; X's page not opened |
| Is India eligible? | A search summary of X's Help page lists India; we could not open it | Not confirmed by us |
| Is there a paid-partnership label? | Engadget and Storyboard18 (2 and 3 Mar 2026): a toggle that labels posts, including older ones | Confirmed as a launch; India not stated |
| Do sponsored posts count for rewards? | Not stated in the sources we read | Not confirmed |
| What do X creators charge? | One booking platform's figures | Low confidence |
Where X fits in India
On reach, X is small. DataReportal measures advertising reach, so it is not the same as active users, but the gap to Instagram's 481 million and YouTube's 500 million is wide, and X's figure fell 12.3 percent in the year. We found no reliable India monthly-user figure for X and do not quote one.
The case for X is timing and conversation. In an IPL report, an analytics firm found that about 12 percent of creator content around the tournament was on X, against about 52 percent on Instagram and 28 percent on YouTube, which shows X in a supporting role even at its best moment. See IPL season influencer marketing.
| Use X when | Skip X when |
|---|---|
| A live moment (match, launch, event) needs fast commentary | You need steady direct-response sales |
| Your buyers are journalists, analysts, developers or founders | Your buyers are older, regional-language or low-data users |
| You want an expert's reaction to a product, update or policy | Your product needs visuals, demos or try-ons |
| You are running a B2B or tech launch | Brand safety is tight and replies are hard to control |
For B2B, compare LinkedIn creator content formats, which usually reach a more clearly defined professional audience.
What changed in August 2026
Several outlets reported on the change. The timeline, as reported:
| Date | What happened |
|---|---|
| 7 Aug 2026 | X announced Original Content Rewards and stopped new Creator Revenue Sharing enrolments |
| 14 and 28 Aug 2026 | Remaining payments under the old programme, reported |
| 7 Sep 2026 | Creator Revenue Sharing retired |
| 8 Sep 2026 | Former participants could apply to the new programme |
| Around 11 Sep and 25 Sep 2026 | A final old payout and the first new payout for accepted applicants, reported; sources differ on some dates |
Gigazine's report lists the new requirements: age 18 or more, a country where the programme runs, an account in good standing, a personal or business account, a Premium subscription, more than 500 followers who are verified, more than 500,000 home-timeline impressions from verified users in 90 days (replies not counted) and regular original content. Payments are every two weeks. The Next Web says X defines original content as the user's own writing, reporting, photos, videos, memes or illustrations, and that a caption describing someone else's video does not count while creative editing or real commentary can.
Three consequences for brands, which are our reading and not X's statement:
- Creators have a reason to post original work, so expect fewer recycled screenshots and more first-hand takes from those who stay in the programme.
- Verified impressions drive payouts, so a creator's real audience may be larger or smaller than the figure that earns rewards. Ask for analytics, not for reward status.
- Sponsored posts may or may not count. We found no statement either way. Ask creators whether a brand post could affect their eligibility before you book.
The Paid Partnership label
In March 2026 X began rolling out a Paid Partnership label that a creator switches on for a post, placed beneath the content; Engadget and Storyboard18 both report that it can be applied to posts already published and that it is meant to replace hashtags such as #ad. Neither said whether it is live in India, and X's policy page returned an access error for us. Our rule is to use the label if it appears and also put a plain label in the first words of the post.
ASCI's influencer guidelines expect a clear label that is upfront and prominent and not buried in hashtags or links, in English or the language of the ad. For a text post, that means the first line. For a video, at least 3 seconds on screen if it is 15 seconds or less and one third of the video if it is over 15 seconds and under 2 minutes. See the ASCI influencer guidelines explainer and disclosure hashtags. This is general information, not legal advice.
Briefing X creators
X rewards speed and a point of view. A good brief gives the creator the facts, the claim limits and a fast approval lane:
- Facts and a claims list the creator can quote without a call.
- A 30-minute approval window during live moments, with a named approver.
- One link, one code, tracked.
- A reply plan: who answers questions, who mutes abusers, and when to stop.
- A no-go list: politics, personal attacks, comparisons you cannot back.
Formats are a single post, a thread, a quote-post of your announcement, or a short video. Threads suit explanation; single posts suit reaction. Ask for a draft for brand-safety review only if the timing allows it.
Brand safety and replies
X conversations move fast and a quote-post can turn a neutral post into a pile-on. Agree before the campaign who watches the replies, what counts as a reason to pause, and who can ask a creator to delete or edit a post (ASCI's guidelines let an advertiser ask an influencer to edit or delete a non-conforming post). Keep screenshots of the approved copy and the published post. If a creator's other posts attract controversy during your flight, you need a clause that lets you pause payment or end the deal; see influencer contracts in India.
Questions to ask each creator about the new programme
- Are you in Original Content Rewards, and since when?
- Could a sponsored post affect your eligibility, and how will you handle that?
- What are your verified-user impressions over the last 90 days, from your analytics?
- How many sponsored posts did you publish last month, and for which categories?
- Can you share impressions for your last ten posts, not only the best three?
- Who handles replies, and will you reply within an hour on launch day?
Vetting on X
Check that followers match impressions, that replies are from real accounts and not a ring of the same handles, and that the creator's last 30 posts carry no abuse or misinformation. Look for repeated sponsored posts for competing brands. Our fake followers guide and engagement pods explainer apply. For finance topics, check credentials first; see finfluencer rules.
What it costs
We found one source for X rates. StarClinch quotes ₹5,000 to ₹20,000 per thread for micro creators and ₹30,000 to ₹1 lakh for macro, with a note that the trend is softening. That is an asking price from a booking platform. Compare cost per 1,000 impressions from each creator's analytics, not follower counts. Usage rights, exclusivity and GST come on top; see the influencer rates guide and the cost calculator.
Measuring a campaign on X
| Signal | Source | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Impressions and engagement | Creator's analytics screenshot, day 1 and day 7 | Ask for impressions, not followers |
| Link clicks | Tracked links | Many readers act later |
| Code redemptions | Unique code per creator | Best proof of sales |
| Branded search | Search interest around the post window | Directional |
| Conversation quality | Replies and quote-posts read by your team | Real questions are product research |
Where X sits in the mix
Use X as a layer on top of a base platform, not as the base. For the base, see Instagram influencer marketing, YouTube Shorts and Facebook creators.
If you want us to shortlist X creators and set up a launch-day approval lane, send us a brief and our team will return a creator plan within 48 hours.
Sources
- Digital 2026: India, DataReportal (Kepios) (5 Nov 2025)
- X is ending its creator revenue sharing programme and launching an Original Content Rewards programme, Gigazine (8 Aug 2026)
- X ends revenue sharing, launches Original Content Rewards program, The Next Web (8 Aug 2026)
- Elon Musk's X shuts down creator revenue programme, launches new rewards plan, Outlook India (8 Aug 2026)
- Original Content Rewards, X Help Center (undated; page returned an access error for us on 1 Nov 2026)
- X adds 'Paid Partnership' labels so users can more easily identify ads, Engadget (2 Mar 2026)
- X introduces built-in 'paid partnership' label to replace #ad hashtags, Storyboard18 (3 Mar 2026)
- IPL influencer marketing spends may touch ₹700 crore in 2026: report, MediaNews4u (19 Mar 2026)
- Influencer fees in India: complete pricing guide, StarClinch (20 Mar 2026)
- ASCI Code and guidelines, including the influencer advertising guidelines, Advertising Standards Council of India (undated, accessed 31 Oct 2026)
Frequently asked questions
Is X still worth using for influencer marketing in India?
For the right job, yes. X's India advertising reach is 22.2 million against 481 million for Instagram, so it is not a reach buy. It earns a slot for live events, launches, tech, news and B2B conversation where speed and commentary matter. Use creators there as a layer on top of an Instagram or YouTube base. See our guide to influencer marketing in India.
What happened to X Creator Revenue Sharing?
X stopped accepting new Creator Revenue Sharing enrolments on 7 August 2026 and retired the programme on 7 September 2026, replacing it with Original Content Rewards. Existing participants could apply to the new programme from 8 September. Reports differ on some payment dates, and X's own Help page returned an access error for us, so check the page before you advise creators.
Does Original Content Rewards pay creators in India?
A search summary of X's Help Center lists India among eligible countries, but we could not open the page ourselves. Reported requirements are age 18 or more, a Premium subscription, more than 500 verified followers, more than 500,000 home-timeline impressions from verified users in 90 days, and regular original content. Confirm with each creator.
Do X influencer posts need a disclosure in India?
Yes. ASCI's influencer guidelines apply on every platform and expect a clear label upfront, not buried in hashtags or links. X launched a Paid Partnership label in March 2026, but we could not confirm it for India. Start the post with a label such as Ad or Collaboration. See the ASCI influencer guidelines explainer. This is general information, not legal advice.
How much do X influencers charge in India?
Published figures are thin. One booking platform quotes ₹5,000 to ₹20,000 per thread for micro creators and ₹30,000 to ₹1 lakh for macro, and says the trend is softening. We found no second source. Ask each creator for their analytics and compare cost per 1,000 impressions. See the caveats in our influencer rates guide.
Can I run finance or crypto-adjacent campaigns with X creators?
Only with care. ASCI's Addendum II requires influencers discussing stocks or investments to hold SEBI registration and show the number, and SEBI's October 2024 circular restricts regulated entities from associating with unregistered advisers. Check credentials before you book. Our guide to finfluencer rules explains the checks.